Facts on Malaysia


Total Area 330,000 square kilometres (127,000 square miles)
Political Structure A federation with 13 states (11 in peninsular Malaysia and 2 in Malaysian Borneo) and 3 federal territories. As a federation, the governance of the country is divided between the federal and the state governments
System of Government Parliamentary democracy with a constitutional monarch
Head of State DYMM Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong XV Sultan Muhammad V
Prime Minister YAB Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad

32.4 million population in first quarter 2018

Major Ethnic Groups Malays, Chinese, Indian, Kadazans, Ibans
Major Languages Bahasa Malaysia (official language), English, Mandarin, Tamil
Major Religions Islam, Budhism, Christianity, Hinduism
Time GMT +8 hours US Eastern Standard Time +13 hours
Climate Tropical - warm an sunny throughout the year. Daily temparatures range from 33°C (90°F) in the afternoon to 22°C (70°F) during the night.
Currency Ringgit Malaysia(RM) which is divided into 100 sen.
Exchange Rate The ringgit exchange rate operates on a managed-float regime against a trade-weighted basket of currencies.

Key Economic Indicators

Malaysia: Investment Performance


Online Applications

e-Stats Digest

Last Updated : Wednesday 14th November 2018