Date: Saturday 19-Apr-14

Print this page Print this page Contact UsDecrease Font Size Increase Font Size

Invest in Malaysia

Infrastructure Support

6. Sea Ports

Ports in Malaysia can be classified as federal ports and state ports. All federal ports are under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Transport. At present there are seven major federal ports, namely, Port Klang, Penang Port, Johor Port, Port of Tanjung Pelepas, Kuantan Port, Kemaman Port, and Bintulu Port All these federal ports are equipped with modern facilities. Bintulu Port is the only port which handles liquefied natural gas.

In tandem with the expansion of the economy and trade, ports in the country registered impressive growth in recent years. Two of the ports; Port Klang and the Port of Tanjung Pelepas, are ranked among the top 20 container ports in the world.

The government's policy on ports focuses on:

a. Being supply-driven, i.e. the provision of ample capacity in ports to ensure that there is zero waiting time for ships.
b. Enhancing the utilisation of ports through:
improving efficiency and productivity of port operations;
port privatisation;
development and improvement of ancillary services; and
development and improvement of land-side transportation.
c. Load centering, Port Klang has been made the national load centre and the transshipment centre. Whereas the Port of Tanjung Pelepas has been recognised as a regional transshipment hub.

^ Back to Top